Florida is about to ban sanctuary cities. At least 11 other states have, too

Originally reported by CNN.

Florida is about to ban sanctuary cities. And it's not alone.

At least 11 other states have taken similar steps.

Florida's measure, passed by lawmakers last week, forbids law enforcement agencies and local governments from adopting policies that limit cooperation with federal immigration authorities.

Republican Gov. Ron DeSantis made the ban a campaign promise, and he's signaled his support for the bill, though his office hasn't said yet whether -- or when -- he's signing it.

It's the latest move by a state to take immigration matters into its own hands, particularly around a controversial question that's become a political lightning rod: Can local governments limit their cooperation with the feds when it comes to immigration enforcement?

Critics — including President Donald Trump — say local sanctuary policies endanger public safety, but his administration's efforts to cut off federal funding to so-called sanctuary cities have been stymied so far by numerous court challenges.

Supporters of sanctuary policies argue they keep communities safe by fostering trust between immigrant communities and law enforcement. Many of the largest cities in the country have such policies in place.

Read the full piece here.